MEPs to debate 2019 enlargement package with Commissioner Hahn on Wednesday
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-29154,single-format-standard,cookies-not-set,et_divi_builder,qode-social-login-1.1.2,qode-restaurant-1.1.1,stockholm-core-1.0.5,tribe-no-js,page-template-stockholm,select-theme-ver-9.8,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,vertical_menu_enabled,menu-animation-underline,side_area_uncovered,,qode_menu_,et-pb-theme-stockholm,et-db,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-7.5,vc_responsive

MEPs to debate 2019 enlargement package with Commissioner Hahn on Wednesday

Foreign Affairs MEPs will discuss the 2019 enlargement package on Wednesday at 11:30, following a presentation by Enlargement Negotiations Commissioner Johannes Hahn.

The European Parliament has previously called on EU member states to formally launch EU accession talks with both Albania and North Macedonia, this summer. Latest Parliament positionshere (Albania) and here (North Macedonia). EU heads of state and government are expected to make a decision on whether to kick off these negotiations during an EU summit in Brussels in June.

Members also want EU countries to grant visa liberalisation to Kosovo, now that all conditions have been met, and have urged both Kosovo and Serbia to resume their dialogue on the normalisation of relations. Latest Parliament positions here (Serbia) and here (Kosovo).

The country-specific reports in the new Commission package will serve as a base for MEPs to prepare detailed resolutions on each country. Meeting agenda.

WHEN: Wednesday 29 May, 11.30 – 12.30.

WHERE: European Parliament’s Altiero Spinelli building in Brussels, room 3G-3.

You can follow the meeting live here.

Quick facts

Current EU candidate countries are Turkey, Serbia, Montenegro, North Macedonia and Albania. Potential candidate countries are Bosnia and Herzegovina and Kosovo. At this point, accession negotiations have started with Turkey (2005), Montenegro (2012) and Serbia (2014).

Further information
EP Foreign Affairs Committee
Latest procedure file – Serbia 
Latest procedure file – Kosovo 
Latest procedure file – North Macedonia 
Latest procedure file – Albania 
Latest procedure file – Montenegro 
Latest procedure file – Bosnia and Herzegovina
Latest procedure file – Turkey