EU-UK relations: MEPs to visit Northern Ireland and London
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-33408,single-format-standard,cookies-not-set,et_divi_builder,qode-social-login-1.1.2,qode-restaurant-1.1.1,stockholm-core-2.4.4,tribe-no-js,page-template-stockholm,select-theme-ver-9.10,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,vertical_menu_enabled,menu-animation-underline,side_area_uncovered,,qode_menu_,et-pb-theme-stockholm,et-db,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-7.7.2,vc_responsive

EU-UK relations: MEPs to visit Northern Ireland and London

From 18 to 19 September, MEPs on the Foreign Affairs Committee will travel to the United Kingdom, including Belfast and London, for talks on how to strengthen EU-UK bilateral cooperation.

This will be the first time that a delegation of the Foreign Affairs Committee, led by David McAllister (EPP, Germany), has conducted an official visit to the United Kingdom since the country left the EU on 31 January 2020. In Northern Ireland, MEPs will meet with representatives of political parties, civil society, business and intergovernmental organisations in Armagh, Belfast and Newry on Monday 18 September, to discuss how the recently adopted Windsor Framework has helped to address the problem of the movement of goods between the EU and the United Kingdom in the Ireland/Northern Ireland Protocol.

The day after, on Tuesday 19 September, the delegation will be in London for meetings with British government and parliamentary representatives, including Minister for Europe Leo Docherty, Minister for the Armed Forces James Heappey and members of both houses of the Parliament of the United Kingdom, as well as with EU member states’ ambassadors. The discussions will focus on how to strengthen the overall EU-UK partnership and deepen the political dialogue on relevant areas of bilateral cooperation, including on foreign and security policy issues.

In addition to Mr McAllister, the delegation will comprise the following MEPs: Željana Zovko (EPP, Croatia), Gheorghe-Vlad Nistor (EPP, Romania), François Alfonsi (The Greens/EFA, France), Lars Patrick Berg (ECR, Germany) and Nathalie Loiseau (Renew Europe, France).