David McAllister (EPP, DE) re-elected Chair of the Foreign Affairs Committee
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-29248,single-format-standard,cookies-not-set,et_divi_builder,qode-social-login-1.1.2,qode-restaurant-1.1.1,stockholm-core-1.0.5,tribe-no-js,page-template-stockholm,select-theme-ver-9.9,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,vertical_menu_enabled,menu-animation-underline,side_area_uncovered,,qode_menu_,et-pb-theme-stockholm,et-db,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-7.6,vc_responsive

David McAllister (EPP, DE) re-elected Chair of the Foreign Affairs Committee

David McAllister will continue as the Chair of Parliament’s Foreign Affairs Committee for the coming two and a half years. He was re-elected by acclamation by committee members on Wednesday.

“I am honoured that the Foreign Affairs Committee renewed its trust in me”, Mr McAllistersaid after the vote.

“I now look forward to continue working with other colleagues in the committee on the foreign policy priorities, in particular securing appropriate funds for EU external actions in the next MFF 2021-2027, monitoring the enlargement and neighbourhood policy as well as scrutinising the international agreements with third countries. It is my goal to work across party lines on strengthening the EU’s Common Foreign and Security Policy and its parliamentary dimension”, he added.

MEPs also elected Mr Witold Waszczykowski(ECR, PL) as the Committee’s First Vice-Chair. The remaining three Vice-Chairs will be elected at a future meeting. Once in place, they will form, together with David McAllister, the Committee’s bureau.

Rules for the election

According to the Rules of Procedure of the European Parliament (Rule 213), the number of Vice-Chairs is determined by Parliament upon a proposal by the Conference of Presidents. The diversity of Parliament must be reflected in the composition of the bureau of each committee. It is not possible, for example, to have an all male or all female bureau or for all of the Vice-Chairs to come from the same Member State.

Coordinators are designated by political groups (Rule 214). If necessary, the committee chair can convene a meeting of the coordinators to prepare decisions to be taken by the committee, in particular decisions on procedure and on the appointment of rapporteurs.