Press release: Members of the European Parliament visit Jakarta to deepen the EU-Indonesia cooperation and support the strategic partnership with ASEAN
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-27281,single-format-standard,cookies-not-set,et_divi_builder,qode-social-login-1.1.2,qode-restaurant-1.1.1,stockholm-core-2.4.4,tribe-no-js,page-template-stockholm,select-theme-ver-9.10,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,vertical_menu_enabled,menu-animation-underline,side_area_uncovered,,qode_menu_,et-pb-theme-stockholm,et-db,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-7.6,vc_responsive

Press release: Members of the European Parliament visit Jakarta to deepen the EU-Indonesia cooperation and support the strategic partnership with ASEAN

A delegation from the European Parliament will be in Indonesia from 7 to 9 May 2018 to meet Indonesian senior government officials and legislators as well as ASEAN Permanent representatives and its Secretary General. The visit will highlight the strategic nature of the EU-Indonesia and EU-ASEAN relationship.

Seven Members from the Foreign Affairs Committee (AFET) of the European Parliament will be visiting Indonesia from 8 to 9 May 2018.

The AFET delegation will be led by its Chair Mr David McAllister (EPP, DE).

In parallel, six Members from the European Parliament’s Delegation for relations with countries of South East Asia and ASEAN (DASE) will visit Jakarta from 7 to 9 May 2018.

The DASE delegation will be led by its Chair Dr Werner Langen (EPP, DE).

The 13 Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) will hold joint meetings with government officials including the Vice-President, the Minister of Trade, the Minister of Foreign Affairs and the Coordinating Minister for Maritime Affairs and with members of the House of Representatives (DPR), including the Deputy Speaker Mr Fadli Zon.

Their visit also comprises meetings with ASEAN, including the Committee of Permanent Representatives and Secretary General Mr Dato Lim Jock Hoi.

Finally, both delegations will engage with representatives from the business community and civil society.


The AFET Committee is composed of 75 members and is responsible for the EU’s Common Foreign and Security Policy (CFSP) and the European Security and Defence Policy (ESDP).  It prepares the work for the European Parliament’s plenary sittings.

In addition to Mr McAllister, the delegation will be composed of six MEPs: Mr Cristian Dan Preda (EPP, RO), Ms Željana Zovko (EPP, HR), Mr Doru Frunzulica (S&D, RO), Mr Juan Fernando Lopez Aguilar (S&D, ES), Mr Wajid Khan (S&D, UK), and Mr Urmas Paet (ALDE, EE).

DASE is an inter-parliamentary delegation and maintains relations and exchanges information with parliaments in non-EU countries. It was created in 1979 and focuses on discussions with elected representatives in ASEAN and in the ten ASEAN member countries.

In addition to Dr Langen, the DASE delegation will consist of its Vice-Chair Mr Jeroen Lenaers (EPP, NL), Mr Burkhard Balz (EPP, DE), Mr Peter Kouroumbashev (S&D, BG),  Ms Barbara Lochbihler (Greens/EFA, DE) and Ms Barbara Kappel (ENF, AT).

Political groups represented:

(from 8 political groups in the European Parliament)

EPP: European People’s Party

S&D: Progressive Alliance of Socialists and Democrats

ALDE: Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe

EFA: European Free Alliance

ENF: Europe of Nations and Freedom

Countries represented:

(from 28 EU Member States)

AT: Austria

BG: Bulgaria

DE: Germany

EE: Estonia

ES: Spain

HR: Croatia

RO: Romania

UK: United Kingdom

For more  information on AFET, access:

For more  information on DASE, access:

MEPs profile can be found here:

Download press release in PDF format: