First Inter-Committee Meeting between European Parliament and the Verkhovna Rada
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-33161,single-format-standard,cookies-not-set,et_divi_builder,qode-social-login-1.1.2,qode-restaurant-1.1.1,stockholm-core-2.4.4,tribe-no-js,page-template-stockholm,select-theme-ver-9.10,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,vertical_menu_enabled,menu-animation-underline,side_area_uncovered,,qode_menu_,et-pb-theme-stockholm,et-db,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-7.7.2,vc_responsive

First Inter-Committee Meeting between European Parliament and the Verkhovna Rada

On Wednesday at 11.00 CEST, MEPs and Ukrainian parliamentarians will gather to exchange views on the nature and challenges of Ukraine’s EU accession process.

The purpose of Wednesday’s kick-off meeting is to bring together the chairpersons of the committees of the European Parliament and the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine to discuss the path ahead for Ukraine with regard to the country’s EU accession process, as well as to show solidarity with Kyiv, which is still battling the Russian invasion. The event will be opened by European Parliament President Roberta Metsola and the Chairman of the Verkhovna Rada Ruslan Stefanchuk, and will be held in a hybrid format.

WHEN: Wednesday 12 April 2023, 11.00-13.00 CEST.

WHERE: Room 5G-2 in the European Parliament’s SPINELLI building in Brussels and remote participation.

Following opening remarks by the two Presidents, those gathered will be divided into two panels to discuss “Rebuilding a European Ukraine” and “Building a sustainable future together”. MEPs and their Ukrainian counterparts will address a range of issues to do with Ukraine’s EU accession process, notably revolving around economic policy, including the rule of law, the anti-corruption agenda and budgetary control, but also getting Ukrainian law to align with EU law and the implementation of EU legislation.

At the opening session, participants are also expected to look at how they can deepen bilateral relations further between the committees of their respective institutions.