EU-Ukraine relations: Foreign Affairs Committee MEPs to visit Kyiv
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-29692,single-format-standard,cookies-not-set,et_divi_builder,qode-social-login-1.1.2,qode-restaurant-1.1.1,stockholm-core-1.0.5,tribe-no-js,page-template-stockholm,select-theme-ver-9.8,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,vertical_menu_enabled,menu-animation-underline,side_area_uncovered,,qode_menu_,et-pb-theme-stockholm,et-db,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-7.5,vc_responsive

EU-Ukraine relations: Foreign Affairs Committee MEPs to visit Kyiv

Foreign Affairs Committee MEPs will visit Kyiv from Thursday to Saturday for meetings with Ukraine’s new political leadership.

The European Parliament Foreign Affairs Committee delegation, led by David McAllister(EPP, DE) will travel to Ukraine from 5 to 7 December for meetings with high-level officials and civil society organisations.

In the capital Kyiv, MEPs will meet with, among others, Prime Minister Oleksiy Honcharuk and Dmytro Razumkov, Speaker of the Verkhovna Rada (Ukrainian parliament). They will also exchange views with the chairs and members of the Verkhovna Rada committees on foreign affairs, European integration, as well as the delegations to the EU-Ukraine Parliamentary Association Committee (PAC) and Euronest Parliamentary Assembly.

EU-Ukraine relations and „Normandy 4“ meeting

Discussions will focus, among many things, on the new Ukrainian leadership’s vision and plans to further develop EU-Ukraine relations, progress made in implementing the Minsk peace agreements and expectations for the forthcoming „Normandy 4“ meeting between the leaders of Ukraine, Russia, France and Germany, which will seek ways to end the war in the Donbass region.

The delegation’s programme will also include meetings with representatives of various civil society organisations, think tanks and anti-corruption bodies.

A press point with Mr McAllister and Prime Minister Honcharuk will be organised after their meeting, with the exact timing to be confirmed.

European Parliament delegation

Besides Mr McAllister, Parliament’s upcoming delegation will be composed of 8 MEPs from its Committee on Foreign Affairs (AFET):

Witold Waszczykowski (ECR, PL), Michael Gahler (EPP, DE), Andrius Kubilius (EPP, LT), Kris Peeters (EPP, BE), Tonino Picula (S&D, HR), Włodzimierz Cimoszewicz (S&D, PL), Bernard Guetta (Renew Europe, FR) and Lars Patrick Berg (ID, DE).