Fighting impunity in Belarus: MEPs to debate the latest developments with experts
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-30849,single-format-standard,cookies-not-set,qode-social-login-1.1.2,qode-restaurant-1.1.1,stockholm-core-1.0.5,tribe-no-js,tribe-bar-is-disabled,select-theme-ver-5.0.7,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,vertical_menu_enabled,menu-animation-underline,side_area_uncovered,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.7,vc_responsive

Fighting impunity in Belarus: MEPs to debate the latest developments with experts

Members will discuss what role the EU can play in the fight against impunity in Belarus, following weeks of anti-government demonstrations, on Friday.

The debate is organised by the Foreign Affairs Committee and the Subcommittee on Human Rights together with the delegations for relations with Belarus and the Euronest Parliamentary Assembly.

Follow the meeting live here. (16.10.2020). The meeting agenda is available here.

Invited experts are, among others, Ales Bialiatski (Director, Human Rights Centre „Viasna“), Harry Pahaniaila (Head of the Legal Commission of the Belarusian Helsinki Committee) and Vaios Koutroulis (Professor of Public International Law, International Law Centre, Faculty of Law, Université libre de Bruxelles).

WHEN: Friday 16 October, 9.00 – 11.00 CET.

WHERE: Remote via room 4Q1 in the European Parliament’s Antall building in Brussels.

Information to media

Journalists are welcome to attend the meeting, provided that they respect the social distancing measures in place due to the COVID-19 pandemic, including wearing a mask at all times.


Belarusian opposition leader Sviatlana Tsikhanouskaya addressed Members of the Foreign Affairs Committee and Subcommittee on Human Rights on 21 September, where she urged MEPs to continue supporting the creation of a new Belarus “admired by the world”. Read more on that meeting here.

The Belarusian democratic opposition was also shortlisted as one of the finalists for the 2020 Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought on 12 October. The winner will be announced by Parliament President David Sassoli on Thursday 22 October at around noon.