European Parliament delegation to visit Moldova
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-29199,single-format-standard,cookies-not-set,qode-social-login-1.1.2,qode-restaurant-1.1.1,stockholm-core-1.0.5,tribe-no-js,tribe-bar-is-disabled,select-theme-ver-5.0.7,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,vertical_menu_enabled,menu-animation-underline,side_area_uncovered,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.7,vc_responsive

European Parliament delegation to visit Moldova

The European Parliament will send a delegation of MEPs to Chișinău on Monday 24 June to take stock of the political situation in Moldova and exchange views with the country’s new government.

A four-MEP strong delegation, led by Foreign Affairs Committee Chair David McAllister (EPP, DE), will meet the new political leadership in Moldova on Monday 24 June, including Prime Minister Maia Sandu, President Igor Dodon, Minister of Foreign Affairs Nicolae Popescu, Minister of Internal Affairs Andrei Năstase, President of the Moldovan parliament Zinaida Greceanîi as well as with Pavel Filip, Chair of the Democratic Party of Moldova (PDM) parliamentary faction. The purpose of the visit is to assess the political situation on the ground, following the recent political crisis, and to take stock of Moldova’s current relations with the EU.

The new Moldovan government was inaugurated on 8 June, following inconclusive parliamentary elections held on 24 February this year. The European Parliament Election Observation Mission to Moldova at the time was chaired by outgoing MEP Rebecca Harms (The Greens/EFA, DE).

In addition to Mr McAllister, the Parliament’s delegation will be composed of three MEPs: Siegfried Mureșan (EPP, RO), Claire Moody (S&D, UK) and Heidi Hautala (The Greens/EFA, FI).


The parliamentary elections in Moldova on 24 February resulted in a hung parliament. This lasted effectively until June when, after long political uncertainty and increased tensions in the country, new Prime Minister Maia Sandu’s pro-EU political alliance ACUM was able to finally put in place a government coalition together with the pro-Russia PSRM party, effectively ousting the former rulers of the Democratic Party led by powerful businessman Vladimir Plahotniuc.